top of page

2023 Night of Celebration Kajaks Recognition banquet

Updated: Dec 12, 2023

Kajaks Track and Field Club successfully held its recognition banquet after four years since the pandemic. Athletes, coaches, volunteers were all recognized for their performances and contributions during the 2023 season.

A complete list of the recipients as follows:

# Kajaksfam awards

Orange and Blue Award (for outstanding community service by a Kajaks athlete)

  • Rebecca Chen

Sylvia Makinson Award (for outstanding volunteer)

  • Lanie Man

Kajaks Varsity Award (for outstanding performance by a university athlete)

  • Rowan Hamilton

Al Jacobsen Memorial Plaque - for a performance deserving of special recognition

  • Logan Duley, Holt McFie, Lyle Lo (McMath Senior Boys banner BC High Schools)

Most Improved Award - Significant improvement through hard work and dedication

  • Lyle Lo, Deven Marrero

Mickey Sherker Award - Athlete overcoming adversity

  • Matthew Uliana, Aidan Turner, Levi Tuura

Kajaks Coaches Award - Athlete who embodies the Kajaks spirit

  • Fred Pawluk

BC Athletics JD Crests

Bronze - Preston Lau, Rona Sander, Paula Petrovs

Silver - Ronin Shute, Mason Dahl, Braelyn Nunley, Siddharth Kadatare, Caveya Willis, Jinghan Chu

Gold - Dean Shergill, Jaan Chahal, Kayden Thomson, Zachary Chan, Armaan Varma-Vitug, Oliver Ly, Tyler Ly, Ashiana Varma-Vitug, Seylah Bains

BC Athletics JD Award - Seylah Bains


Outstanding JD 9 athletes - Dean Shergill; Ashiana Varma-Vitug, Seylah Bains

Outstanding JD 10 athlete - Zachary Chan

Outstanding JD 11 athletes - Oliver Ly; Caveya Willis

Outstanding JD 12 athletes - Siddharth Kadatare; Paula Petrovs

Outstanding JD 13 athletes - Tyler Ly; Emeth Leung

Outstanding U16 Female athlete - Laila Sandhu

Outstanding U16 Male athlete - Chase Longley

Outstanding U18 Female athlete - Lauren Curtis

Outstanding U18 Male athlete - Lawrence Man

Outstanding U20 Female athlete - Lauren Friesen

Outstanding U20 Male athlete - Matthew Uliana, Aidan Turner

Outstanding Senior Female athlete - Camryn Rogers

Outstanding Senior Male athlete - Evan Dunfee

Outstanding Masters athlete - Fred Pawluk, Jake Madderom

2023 Lower Mainland Cross-Country series (LMXC) Awards

Ashiana Varma-Vitug - 2nd place 9 yo girls

Emeth Leung - 3rd place 13 yo girls

Katherine Kennedy - 3rd place 14 yo girls

Ruby Kump - 1st place 15 yo girls

Lynne Dueck - 3rd place F60-69

Cherry Graf - 1st place F70+

Tamas Revoczi - 3rd place M50-59

Jake Madderom - 1st place M70+

Fred Pawluk - 3rd place M70+

Event and Legacy Awards

Botcher Trophy - Outstanding Off-track Athlete (Cross Country and Road Racing)

  • Seline Tasdemir

Mike O'Connor Memorial Award - Outstanding performance at a BC High School Championships

  • Aidan Turner

Carmyn James Award - Outstanding Club coach deserving of special recognition

  • Michaela Colluney

Kim Young Award - Outstanding performance by an athlete in the Sprints events

  • Logan Duley

Kajaks Baton Award - Outstanding performance by a Relay or cross-country team

  • JD relay team 2012 boys

Marek Jedrzejeck Award -Outstanding performance by an athlete in the Track Endurance events

  • Zachary Kennedy, Selin Tasdemir

Moseley Jack Award - Outstanding performance by an athlete in the Jumps events

  • Sofia Varma-Vitug, Eric Chatten

Richard Collier Memorial Award - Outstanding performance by an athlete in the Throws events

  • Rowan Hamilton

Combined Events Award - Outstanding performance by an athlete in the Combined events

  • Aidan Turner

Vice President's Award - Provincial Team athletes

  • Aidan Turner, Caidyn Maver, Camryn Rogers, Chanell Botsis, Deven Marrero, Evan Dunfee, Lauren Curtis, Elise Drake, Lauren Curtis, Lawrence Man, Levi Tuura, Logan Duley, Lyle Lo, Matthew Uliana, Ness Murby&Eva Fejes

President's Award - National Team athletes

  • Camryn Rogers, Evan Dunfee, Levi Tuura, Rowan Hamilton

Jack Harrison Award - Overall Outstanding Junior Development athlete of the Year

  • Ashiana Varma-Vitug, Seylah Bains; Tyler Ly

Diane B. Matheson Trophy - Overall Outstanding Male athlete of the Year

  • Evan Dunfee

Doug B. Clement Trophy - Overall Outstanding Female athlete of the Year

  • Camryn Rogers

Cyrus McLean Trophy - Outstanding Performance by a Kajaks athlete

  • Camryn Rogers

Kajaks Officials Appreciation

Cathy Duley, Garrett Collier, Jacob Emerson, Jake Madderom, Lanie Man, Lloyd Uliana, Marina Khrisanova, Svetlana Khrisanova

2023 Year In Review Video:

CONGRATULATIONS to all our Kajaks Fam for this amazing season!

Recent Posts

See All

Kajaks at the BC High School T&F Championships

Kajaks athletes who made the cut through their respective school zone championships represented their high schools in the recently concluded BC High School Track and Field Championships organized by


bottom of page